Nea Potidaia has linked its name with the Canal of Potidaia, a project that connects Toronaios to Thermaikos Bay, located on the “neck”of the peninsula. The history situates its opening from the King Kassandros, without unfortunately the exact date. Along the canal there are remnant parts of the city’s walls, which had suffered lots of losses and repairs, capturing though the form of the fortification.
Nea Fokea is a beautiful seaside village, inhabited by refugees who found shelter in the area in 1922. They came from Fokea of Minor Asia, after the destruction of Smyrna, giving the same name in their new home land. The Tower is considered to be of the main attractions, which overlooks the sea, situated on a hill, on the ruins of a prehistoric settlement. The tower seems to have been built around 1407.The Holy Water of Apostle Paul, surrounded by a beautiful christian story, where it is said the Apostle Paul was secretly baptizing Christians at this site.
Afitos or Athitos is considered one of the most charming traditional vilages, having a particular architecture, stone built houses, stone sculptures, slated roads, beautiful churches. The most representative is the church of St Demetrios (1859), a square aisled basilica with dome and wooden roof, and the Folk Museum with a rich collection of objects, coming from a rich history.The Sanctuary of Dionysus and the Temple of Ammon Zeus contributed to become an important city, so as to help during the Persian Wars with its own ships and to mint its own currency.
Kallithea has become famous for its tourism infrastructure, there is though a archeological treasure of great interest to be proud of. In 1969, during the construction of hotel, it had been revealed a part of the temple of Ammon Zeus (5th century B.C) and the later excavations brought into light the Sanctuary of Dionysus and Nymohs (8th century B.C).At the location of “Solinas” was discovered an early Christian basilica of exceptional interest, dating back from the 6th century.
Sani is considered to be the most representative settlement of Halkidiki, since it combines the tradtitional atmosphre with the tourism infrastructure. In its modern history, Sani used to be a church property (=metohi) of Stavronikita Monastery of Mount Athos, which was occupying Greek and Bulgarians farmers. The famous Tower of Stavronikita (1543) was then the protection of the metohi. Now, next to it, the famous Festival of Sani takes place, being one of the most important festival of art and music events in Halkidiki.
The setllement of Fourka consists of two parts- Skala, the seaside site and the village Fourka, just 2km away. The byzantine church of St.Ioannis, the old houses with the traditional architecture mirror the signs of time. The sandy beach and the pine woods stress the beauty of the area.
The name of the settlement comes from the pine wood which covers the area (pefkodasos in Greek means pine wood). The beauty of the forest competes the sandy beach, giving the most appealing colours in the atmosphere. Alleys, promenades and gardens, the small monastery of St Ioannis the Russian and the lagoon of Glarokavos.
A destructive earthquake in 1930, forced the residents to change the location of their settlement. The name “Chanioti” comes from the first resident ever that settled in the new village (Haniotis=comes from Hania, a city of Crete). The village is adorned by beautiful squares, parks and tall evergreen trees. The beach of golden sand and the tourism infrastructure, place the settlement between the most charming areas of Halkidiki.